Home >> National Statistical Commission >> Chairman and Members
Chairman and Members

Appointments made so far

Following the due procedure, the Government of India appointed the NSC on 12th July 2006 with Prof. Suresh D.Tendulkar as part-time Chairman, Prof. Surjit Bhalla, Prof. Bikas Sinha, Prof. Amitabh Kundu and Dr. Padam Singh as part-time Members and Secretary, Planning Commission as the ex-officio Member. Dr. Padam Singh resigned and the part-time Chairman and rest of the part-time Members have completed their tenure. The positions were filled again.

The names of part-time Chairperson and part-time Members of the Commission during the period under report are as follows:

(i) Prof. R. Radhakrishana- Chairperson (up to 29th July 2012)
(ii) Prof. Shibdas Bandyopadhyay- Member (up to 1st October 2012)
(iii) Prof. Sudipto Mundle- Member (up to 23rd December 2012)
(iv) Shri Suman K. Bery- Member ( up to 23rd December 2012)
(v) Prof. Anil P. Gore- Member (up to 19th December 2011)

Part-time Chairman and Members at present

  1. Dr. Pronob Sen – Chairman w.e.f 25th February, 2013
  2. Prof. Bishwanath Goldar, Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi-Member w.e.f 2oth June, 2013
  3. Prof. S. Mahendra Dev, Director & Vice Chancellor, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research, Mumbai-Member w.e.f 5th July, 2013
  4. Prof. Rahul Mukerjee, Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta-Member w.e.f 2oth July, 2013
  5. Shri Ramesh Kolli, Retired Addl. Director General, Central Statistics Office, Delhi-Member w.e.f 8th July, 2013

Dr. Pronab Sen was the Chief Statistician of India (CSI) w.e.f 21st February 2007 till 30th June, 2010. Prof. TCA Anant has been appointed as the Chief Statistician of India (CSI) w.e.f 1st July, 2010 for a period of five years. The CSI is the Secretary to the Commission. He has a dual role, as he is also the Secretary to the Government of India in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation (MOSPI).The tenure of each member will be three years or till he attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Office of the NSC

The NSC is located at II Floor, Sardar Patel Bhawan, Parliament Street, New Delhi – 110 001.